DUI Penalties in PA

If you have been issued a ticket or summons for DUI in Montgomery County, PA, it is important that you be aware that severe penalties, including license suspension, monetary fines, and possible jail time apply if you are convicted. Below is an overview of the penalties imposed for DUI convictions in Montgomery County, PA.

If you have been charged with DUI in southeastern Pennsylvania, you should contact our experienced Montgomery County, PA DUI lawyers as soon as possible following your arrest. Contact the experienced Montgomery County, PA DUI lawyers at The Martin Law Firm for a free initial case evaluation. We represent individuals charged with DUI in Montgomery County, PA as well as the surrounding areas of Bucks, Chester, Philadelphia, and Delaware counties.

 

General DUI Impairment Penalties

  No prior DUI offenses
  • ungraded misdemeanor
  • up to 6 months probation
  • $300 fine
  • alcohol highway safety school
  • treatment when ordered
  1 prior DUI offense
  • ungraded misdemeanor
  • 12 month license suspension
  • 5 days to 6 months jail time
  • $300 to $2,500 fine
  • alcohol highway safety school
  • treatment when ordered
  • 1 year ignition interlock
  2 or more prior DUI offenses
  • 2nd degree misdemeanor
  • 12 month license suspension
  • 10 days to 2 years prison
  • $500 to $5,000 fine
  • treatment when ordered
  • 1 year ignition interlock

 

High BAC Penalties (.10 to .159% BAC)

  No prior DUI offenses
  • ungraded misdemeanor
  • 12 month license suspension
  • 48 hours to 6 months prison
  • $500 to $5,000 fine
  • alcohol highway safety school
  • treatment when ordered
  1 prior DUI offense
  • ungraded misdemeanor
  • 12 month suspension
  • 30 days to 6 months prison
  • $750 to $5,000 fine
  • alcohol highway safety school
  • treatment when ordered
  • 1 year ignition interlock
  2 or more prior DUI offenses
  • 1st degree misdemeanor
  • 18 month license suspension
  • 90 days to 5 years prison
  • $1,500 to $10,000 fine
  • treatment when ordered
  • 1 year ignition interlock
  3 or more prior DUI offenses
  • 1st degree misdemeanor
  • 18 month license suspension
  • 1 to 5 years prison
  • $1,500 to $10,000 fine
  • treatment when ordered
  • 1 year ignition interlock

 

Highest BAC Penalties (.16% and higher) or Controlled Substance

  No prior DUI offenses
  • ungraded misdemeanor
  • 12 month license suspension
  • 72 hours to 6 months prison
  • $1,000 to $5,000 fine
  • alcohol highway safety school
  • treatment when ordered
  1 prior DUI offense
  • 1st degree misdemeanor
  • 18 month license suspension
  • 90 days to 5 years prison
  • $1,500 to $10,000 fine
  • alcohol highway safety school
  • treatment when ordered
  • 1 year ignition interlock
  2 or more prior DUI offenses
  • 1st degree misdemeanor
  • 18 month license suspension
  • 1 to 5 years prison
  • $2,500 to $10,000
  • treatment when ordered
  • 1 year ignition interlock