Second Offense DUI Lawyer

If you have been charged with DUI in southeast Pennsylvania, you should consult one of our experienced Montgomery County, PA DUI lawyers as soon as possible following your arrest. You should act with particular urgency if you have been charged with a second offense DUI in Montgomery County, PA, as the penalties you face increase dramatically once you already have a DUI on your record.

The Martin Law Firm is a Montgomery County, PA DUI defense law office located in Blue Bell. Our reputable Montgomery County, PA DUI lawyers are experienced in handling DUI and drugged driving matters in southeastern Pennsylvania and offer an initial DUI case evaluation at no charge. Contact an experienced Montgomery County, PA DUI lawyer at The Martin Law Firm at 215-646-3980 for legal help today.

 

Second Offense DUI in Montgomery County, PA

The Pennsylvania DUI Law is located at 75 Pa.C.S. § 3802. In Montgomery County, PA, for a person charged with a second offense DUI, the penalties are more severe than if the charges were for a first offense DUI. The DUI penalties that govern second offense cases in Montgomery County, PA are set forth at 75 Pa.C.S. § 3804, which provides:

(a) General impairment.—Except as set forth in subsection (b) or ©, an individual who violates section 3802(a) (relating to driving under influence of alcohol or controlled substance) shall be sentenced as follows:

(2) For a second offense, to:

(i) undergo imprisonment for not less than five days;

(ii) pay a fine of not less than $300 nor more than $2,500;

(iii) attend an alcohol highway safety school approved by the department; and

(iv) comply with all drug and alcohol treatment requirements imposed under sections 3814 and 3815.

(b) High rate of blood alcohol; minors; commercial vehicles and school buses and school vehicles; accidents.—Except as set forth in subsection ©, an individual who violates section 3802(a)(1) where there was an accident resulting in bodily injury, serious bodily injury or death of any person or damage to a vehicle or other property or who violates section 3802(b), (e) or (f) shall be sentenced as follows:

(2) For a second offense, to:

(i) undergo imprisonment of not less than 30 days;

(ii) pay a fine of not less than $750 nor more than $5,000;

(iii) attend an alcohol highway safety school approved by the department; and

(iv) comply with all drug and alcohol treatment requirements imposed under sections 3814 and 3815.

© Incapacity; highest blood alcohol; controlled substances.—An individual who violates section 3802(a)(1) and refused testing of blood or breath or an individual who violates section 3802© or (d) shall be sentenced as follows:

(2) For a second offense, to:

(i) undergo imprisonment of not less than 90 days;

(ii) pay a fine of not less than $1,500;

(iii) attend an alcohol highway safety school approved by the department; and

(iv) comply with all drug and alcohol treatment requirements imposed under sections 3814 and 3815.

 

Montgomery County, PA DUI Lawyer

There are strong reasons to secure quality legal counsel if you have been charged with your second DUI charge in Montgomery County, PA. Not only are criminal penalties for a second DUI increased, but the Montgomery County courts tend to be harder on second-time DUI offenders. Fortunately, the experienced Montgomery County, PA DUI lawyers at The Martin Law Firm can help.

Our skilled DUI lawyers will perform a comprehensive review of your case to help you build a strong defense. Our Montgomery County DUI lawyers can review your traffic stop, challenge your blood or breath tests, analyze the validity of field sobriety tests, and ensure that the best results for you are achieved as efficiency as possible. Contact an experienced Montgomery County, PA DUI lawyer at The Martin Law Firm at 215-646-3980 for a free case evaluation.